Happy birthday to me.

26 Apr

 

Kyle made me this box with a puzzle inside

So many life changes have happened since my last post. Where to begin? The most important thing is that I am now 22!

Well, Oli and I moved in with Kyle on Saturday (that was a lot of capitals). I was nervous about the ride up here – it was Oli’s first long car ride. I put a pillow on my lap and it was high enough so that he could lay down and look out the window. The car ride made him so sleepy – and me too! I struggle to stay awake during car rides. Oli was so excited when we got into Toronto. In the first 2 minutes, two groups of people stopped and played with him on the street saying how cute he was. I can already tell he loves it here.

So, here I am sharing a tiny one bedroom apartment with two boys and a dog. I’m enjoying it though. It feels good to be on my own (sort of) again.

There are only 9 days left until I leave for Europe! I confirmed two couchsurfing hosts – one in Frankfurt and the other in Paris. It’s a lot harder to find hosts than I expected. I think it’s because I’m in a group of three and most people only allow two surfers. I can’t complain though, so long as we get to save some money and meet some interesting folk.

Today is my birthday – did I mention that already? Kyle, Oli and I woke up to a sunny city day. We had coffee and breakfast and before Kyle set off to school, he gave me some presents! How sweet. Later, I went to the Gap on Bloor Street and introduced myself as the new transfer. Everybody seems really nice and I can’t wait to start making money again in June. After that, I went to Starbucks and treated myself to a latte. I shared a table with an older woman and we started chatting. She was planning her daughter’s wedding and I told her about my travels. It was great to talk to someone – I thought I would be all alone on my birthday until later tonight. We parted ways after almost 40 minutes of chitchat.

Tonight, my friends and I are going for nachos and drinks at this dive called Sneaky Dee’s. I’m excited to see everybody – even my cousin is coming into the city to meet up.

Thanks everybody for the birthday wishes!

 

3 Responses to “Happy birthday to me.”

  1. Anonymous April 27, 2010 at 1:43 AM #

    Wish we could all be there to celebrate (again)! Glad everything is peachy… I don't get to see you before you leave but I'll talk to you before then, and I'll send Stef and Jessie with a parting gift from me :)<3! Jo

  2. Anonymous April 28, 2010 at 4:53 PM #

    It was very nice to see you and have dinner with you for your birthday! Long time since we hung out, and i am looking forward to hanging out more! I hope you will have a great time on your travels, if i do not see you before you leave! Take lots of pictures and be safe!MUAHHHHHH!Love u! Jojo**

  3. Anonymous April 29, 2010 at 3:03 AM #

    Yay to another year! It was good to see you the other night, have a great time!!!!ChrissyI miss you!

Leave a Reply

