Paris, je t’aime!

10 May

Parisian streets

Bonjour amis! I’m in Paris now and the weather is much better. Rainy, but warmer so I can’t complain too much. Despite what I’ve heard, Paris is beautiful. Sure you smell  pee at times, but it’s no smellier than Toronto. My first sight of Paris was the Indian quarter and my first meal was Middle Eastern… I knew this would be a great city!

Anyways.

I’ve never climb so many stairs in my life! This morning I woke up at 7:00am to beat the line at the Louvre and let me tell you – arriving one hour before it opens still means you have to line up around the glass pyramid. As I was waiting in line, the camera died. Oh great! The day I’m cramming in the most sightseeing, the camera dies! Just then, Stefanie notices Gerry – a friend from high school who is traveling Europe at the same time as us. Strange, but awesome. So he joined us and we traveled the city with him and he took all of the photos! It was perfect timing.

line-up at the Louvre

I am not a museum buff, so all I really wanted to see in the Louvre was the Mona Lisa, Venus de Milo, Egyptian artifacts and the Mary Magdalene statue. By the time I saw all of that, the swarms of people rushed in and I was ready to leave. After the Louvre, I walked to Notre Dame Cathedral. You can walk in the church for free, but I wanted to climb up to the tower and pretend I was Quasimodo. After waiting in a ridiculous long line (longer than the Louvre!) and climbing 400 tiny steps, I made it to the top. The views of Paris are stunning.

Notre Dame Cathedral

The four of us stopped for lunch at a panini take out stand and made our way through the Champs Elysees to the Arc de Triomphe. I climbed a bunch more stairs and was greeted with amazing views again! The best part of the Arc is that it’s located in the centre of a huge roundabout. It’s the most chaotic roundabout I’ve seen. I also saw an accident from above. A mini cooper rear ended a sedan. I suppose an accident was inevitable. I took one last look at the city and walked down to ground level.

As if that wasn’t enough bird eye views, we all decided we wanted to see the city at night and walked towards the Eiffel Tower. We bought two bottles of wine, some snacks and found a nice dry spot under a tree with an up close and personal view of the tower. It downpoured while we toasted to Paris – the most romantic city in Europe (so I hear).

view of cloudy Paris

Once we were warm and toasty from our wine, we huddled under the Eiffel Tower before taking the elevator up to the top. There are just three words to describe what it was like: Bright, Cold and Windy! (side note: capitals are cool). I couldn’t believe how cold it was. The wind could’ve carried me away.

We decided to take the metro back to our couchsurfing host’s apartment, instead of walking (our feet killed!). When we got there, I changed into warm socks and Stefanie and I made vegetables and peanut butter toast for dinner. We are culinary genesis. Tomorrow, I’m exploring the catacombs, another church and a few gardens. I might even attend a university party with our couchsurfing hosts.

10 Responses to “Paris, je t’aime!”

  1. Brad May 11, 2010 at 1:40 AM #

    Well it WAS good luck to run into Gerry, you girls are going to have to get the camera situation worked out. It sounds like you had a wonderful time for your first day in Paris. It sounds like there were millions of tourist there trying to see the same things you were…LOL…When do we see some of the pictures you have? Things are okay here, Jonathan did well at his track meet Friday, he got silver in 3000 meter relay. He runs Tues,Wed., Thursday for WECESSA. I'm really enjoying your Blog. it is great to know that you all are having fun. I hope the weather gets better. Take care and be safe.

  2. Annette May 11, 2010 at 3:34 AM #

    Don't forget Sacre Coeur, although it means another load of steps to walk up, but you also get to go through Montmartre where all the artists are 🙂

  3. againstourfaces May 11, 2010 at 4:54 PM #

    sounds awesome! i'm jealous!! ps. have you eaten a peach yet?

  4. againstourfaces May 11, 2010 at 4:54 PM #

    oops. that was emily. crap. you weren't supposed to see my blog link. oh well, it's all private!

  5. Joanna May 11, 2010 at 7:34 PM #

    PICTURES PLEASE! 🙂

  6. Anonymous May 11, 2010 at 8:36 PM #

    Sounds like a blast! But you guys really need to go get a camera! Cheers to the rest of your travels!Miss u! Love u!Your cuzJojo xo

  7. Fatima May 12, 2010 at 1:19 AM #

    Sounds so amazing. The camera thing is turning into quite an adventure. Is anyone going to break down and just buy a cheap camera for the trip!

  8. Brad May 13, 2010 at 3:07 AM #

    Well I hope you are going to write some more…I need to know you're okay, and what you three are up to.

  9. Anonymous August 14, 2010 at 7:36 PM #

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  10. Anonymous August 15, 2010 at 6:51 AM #

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

Leave a Reply

