Barcelona, Spain

17 May

Flamenco show in Barcelona

Despite having a rocky start to Barcelona, I am having an amazing time in the city. The weather has been beautiful – sunny skies and a nice breeze.

Barcelonetta

I arrived in Barcelona on the 14th, but after the pickpocketing incident I didn’t really feel like doing anything that day. I had an early night and then woke up the next day and decided to cruise along La Rambla – a long pedestrian throughway with tons of restaurants and random vendors selling everything from your average souvenir and artisan craft to small rodents and flowers. After I walked the length of it, I wandered through the narrow alleys in the Bario Gotic – part of the old city – and then made my way to Barcelonetta, the beach. Even though it was a bit chilly, there were tons of people on the beach tanning. I can’t imagine how busy it is in August, if it was that packed in May. Tons of people come up to you selling sunglasses, coconuts, water, beer, tattoos, massages, etc. It is a little annoying, when all you want to do is relax.

La Rambla

That night, I met a group of people in the hostel and we all decided to go clubbing. It was Saturday night and I figure this will probably be the last night I party hard in Europe. My body can not stay out until 5:30 am anymore! In Barcelona, you can’t even go to a club before 1 am. It’s awful for us Canadians who are used to leaving at 11pm and coming home from the bar by 3am. Anyways, we went to Barcelona’s largest club with a capacity of 5000 and let me tell you, it was packed! It’s called SALA RAZZMATAZZ and there were 5 rooms with different DJs spinning all types of music. It was a little difficult finding a room where I enjoyed the music. It seemed like I kept walking into house or techno rooms…

crazy Spanish soccer fans.

That night, we didn’t get home until 6am. The sun was about to rise (once again!). We all snacked on Nutella and oranges before passing out. I slept in on Sunday and then trekked this huge mountain/park to an old fortress boasting panoramic views of the city. On my way down the mountain, I came across a ropes course and a zip line cable for kids. Stefanie, Jess and I played for a bit before descending the rest of the mountain. The little boys thought we were crazy. I thought we were the coolest.

Last night, I went to a Flamenco show. It was so amazing and everyone was very talented! I really enjoyed the singing, but everyone seemed put off by it. In all fairness, it was a bit bizarre. The performers are just so passionate about their culture. Great show, great music and amazing flamenco!

After the show, there was a huge street party with riot police everywhere. Barcelona had just won a soccer (futball!) match. I’ve never seen anything like it! Spaniards are crazy for their soccer. People were climbing light posts and setting off fireworks everywhere. It was unreal and a little scary. I thought a stampede would break out at any moment. I turned off the main road and found a great gelato place. It was the perfect way to top off a fantastic night in Barcelona.

2 Responses to “Barcelona, Spain”

  1. Brad May 17, 2010 at 9:17 PM #

    I'm glad you're back in good spirits…Sounds like you're maturing what with not liking partying until 5am…lol…The city sounds wonderful…I can't wait to see the pictures…We miss you …

  2. Fatima May 19, 2010 at 4:49 PM #

    Hey, Melissa…are you going to do any wine tasting? Or, tour some fancy/or not so fancy wineries or vineyards while you are in Europe. I just thought about some real medieval castles, too. They are only in Europe. If you have a chance you should check one out. I'd love to hear about that.

Leave a Reply

