Viva Barcelona + The French Riviera

19 May

view of Barcelona where you can see the Sagrada Familia

I am in Villefranche-Sur-Mer in the South of France – but first, here’s a update about my last day in Barcelona, Spain.

I decided to do a walking tour about Antonio Gaudi – a famous architect with an eccentric mind. I saw a lot of his most recognizable commissions and then the tour ended at the Sagrada Familia – which you should look up because it is amazing! After the tour, I went to Park Guell (another area he designed). It has the world’s largest park bench which is intricately tiled. Very beautiful! After all that walking, I decided to visit the Barcelona beach one last time. Pure bliss.

view from our couchsurfing host’s villa

Yesterday was a tiring travel day. I was on trains from 8am to 8pm. I arrived in Nice, took a regional train to Villefranche-sure-mer and then had to figure out how to find our couchsurfing host’s villa. I saw some girls and they tried to help, but we had no luck and it was getting late. A guy on the street (who had a cute dog!), called the villa for us and explained to our hosts where to pick us up. I’m not really sure how he knew the number, but 30 minutes later we were in the car trudging up the huge mountain to our home for the next 4 nights 🙂

Our hosts are amazing! I am staying with 10 Isreali guys who all work for the same company in Nice. Nobody speaks French – just Hebrew and English! It doesn’t even feel like we are in France. There are also two more guys who are visiting as well (one from Israel and the other from New York). It’s one packed villa, but it doesn’t feel that way because most of them are working during the day. Our room is small and there are a lot of ants and spiders, but the view makes up for it and so do the meals actually. The boys cook for us and drive us everywhere. They have been so generous.

Last night, a few of us went to a bar in Nice. We actually got home at a reasonable time (2:30am!). Jess, Stef and I slept in today until noon – trust me we needed it! After lunch, 9 of us went to the beach to play sand volleyball. I thought Stef and I held our own, but Jessie was another story. We came back for dinner and then showered. Everybody is either napping or relaxing right now, so I figured it would be a great time to write a post.

playing beach volleyball in the South of France

I am pretty much winging it here. I don’t have any set plans. Tomorrow I might go to Cannes to scope out some celebrities at the film festival. I guess it depends on the weather. Today was the first day I wore shorts during my euro-trip!

If you have any questions, I’ll try to answer them on here in due time. I can’t figure out the ‘reply to comment’ function on blogspot. To Fatima: Yes, I have seen some medieval architecture – there was a fortress I explored in Barcelona and tons of old churches. More to come I’m sure. As for wine tasting, I pretty much just buy bottles (or boxes!) from the grocery store for 2 euro!

2 Responses to “Viva Barcelona + The French Riviera”

  1. Brad May 19, 2010 at 11:55 PM #

    What a lovely view…the photo opportunities must be awesome…It was nice to see your face but you forgot to show Steph…try to get all three of you in the next video..and how about some pictures..lol..Sorry I missed your call, figures when you get a great connection I'm not here. Enjoy your new adventure, explore and blog some more. We miss you…take care

  2. Fatima May 20, 2010 at 2:38 AM #

    Nice video!

Leave a Reply

