Ciao!

24 May

The beach in Villefranche-Sur-Mer, France

It’s been a whirlwind in Europe. I guess I should start at Villefranche-sur-Mer, France.

The south of France (especially where I’m staying) is absolutely gorgeous! It’s very peaceful and relaxing. I actually made it to a beach, which is surprising considering the weather in Europe right now. The water was freezing, but the sun was blistering. My only comfort was sitting at the edge of the water and letting the small waves crash against my legs. I noticed a mom and her baby pointing at something in the water, so I got up to take a look. From afar, it looked like a piece of seaweed – but when I got closer, I saw that it was a jellyfish!! Small, but I’m sure the sting would hurt. I took a picture and ran back to show Stef and Jessie. I looked up and one of our couchsurfing hosts was swimming in the water towards us, so I ran back down to the beach to warn him BUT it was too late. He was stung – maybe not by the same one though. He played a tough guy – of course.

The red carpet at the Cannes International Film Festival

After a day of tanning and lounging, I went to bed early to catch the morning train to Cannes. It wasn’t all the glitz and glamour I imagined. The beach in Cannes is ugly in comparison to Villefranche. The only interesting thing about Cannes is the film festival, which started the day I arrived! I watched the organizers roll down the red carpet, very exciting stuff. There was a great buzz happening all throughout Cannes. I was hoping to see some celebrities, but we needed to leave before 6:30pm for our goodbye dinner with the hosts. I was able to see the soiree begin – music, lights, cameras, paparazzi and all! It was really exciting!

When we got back to the villa, the boys had prepared a special dinner for the Sabbath (Jewish Holy Day). Chicken skewers, steak, wedges, salad, bread, spreads, etc. It was delicious – but before we could eat, it is customary for them to read from a prayer book and for someone to say a speech. So, who got stuck with the speech? Me, of course! And I totally bombed it, but at least it was from the heart. I blame the wine.

The next day I left early on the train to Florence. It was another long day of traveling and a little stressful because some train worker told us that we shouldn’t fall asleep or else some guy will spray our eyes with something and steal our bags. Mind you, this was all said in Italian with the hand gestures but we got the message. As a result, we took shifts napping BUT Jessie fell asleep on her watch! So I pretty much stayed awake the rest of the ride and watched Dexter. Oh yeah, I’ve been watching Dexter from Season 1 and I love it! Watch it!

sunset in Florence, Italy

I’ve been in Florence for the past two nights. It is very cute and there is a lot to see if you enjoy Italian art. But since I have no idea what most things are and why they are so famous – I just walked around and looked at churches. Today, I took the train to Pisa. The leaning tower is strange and very hard to find. Stef, Jess and I got super lost – but we managed to find our way to the train station after an hour wandering in the wrong direction. When I got back to Florence, I was supposed to see Michelangelo’s David, but it was CLOSED! In Rome, I’ll have to look at when things are open, so I don’t miss anything.

Tonight I’m going to watch the sunset over Florence and tomorrow I’m leaving for Cinque Terre. How romantic!

2 Responses to “Ciao!”

  1. Brad May 25, 2010 at 1:08 AM #

    Too bad you couldn't have stayed longer at the Film Festival so you could see what the red carpet is all about. Your vacation sounds absolutely fabulous, I loved the pictures you posted…Oh wait you haven't have you…LOL Things are going well here…weather sunny and hot…Jonathan is at Cedar Point today and we just got back from Uncle Ken's fireworks and visiting Aunt Brenda…(Small World experience) I was telling the guys at Sears about how your trip is…Tom said that his friend is over there as well. When I mentioned Gerry and you meeting up in Paris…he said Gerry and then Gerry's last name…I said yes…Gerry and Tom are friends and went to Vegas together…small world…Take care…watch your stuff…and enjoy…say hi to the girls for us…Miss you

  2. Fatima May 27, 2010 at 11:16 AM #

    Ciao, Melissa! Can't wait to read about your hikes and the views. Take care!

Leave a Reply

