Cliffside Hikes – that’s amore!

27 May

Sorry about the disappearing act. The hostel in Cinque Terre had no wifi.

Cinque Terre reminds me a lot of the Azores. It’s essentially a national park amongst 5 coastal villages. There are a bunch of trails as well as a train system connecting all of the villages. I was hoping to hike the whole path in two days. It really only takes 5 hours; however, when I arrived in La Spezia, Italy to buy the passes, I found out that the last section of the hike (i.e. the most difficult) was closed due to a landslide. I was a little disappointed, but Stefanie, Jessie and I decided to hike as far as we could in one day and then relax on the beach on the second day before leaving.

The hike is absolutely breathtaking! I hiked on a coastal path, alongside cliffs and through olive groves. The views are amazing! It took 3.5 hours to reach the closed off section – then we took the train back to the hostel and started cooking dinner only to realize that our gas stove needed to be lit with a lighter or match in order to work. We had nothing in our room, so I went outside and saw an old woman (let’s call her Nona) hanging her stockings from up above me and I tried my best to ask her for a match to light the burner. A bit of hand gestures later and some French vocab and she dropped down a lighter for me. After I lit the stove I went back outside to try and give it back, but Nona was gone.  Another Nona noticed I was looking for my original Nona upstairs and yelled “Francesca!” and she quickly came back to the window. I wanted to give it back to her, but she told me to keep it – this was all in Italian mind you. So kind! I love grandmas!

Our stay in Cinque Terre was perfect. It is a nice respite from the city and it should definitely be a pit stop on any Italian adventure.

I just arrived in Rome and all I’ve done is grocery shopping and dining. The hostel is an old nunnery outside the city centre. It’s a bit far – 40 minutes by public transport – but it is super cheap for Rome. It is only 15euro a night and has a kitchen and wifi.

Tomorrow, I’m visiting the ancient city. I hope to update before leaving Rome. Once again, thanks for your comments!

5 Responses to “Cliffside Hikes – that’s amore!”

  1. Brad May 27, 2010 at 9:09 PM #

    I'm glad your back blogging, I miss hearing about your adventure. The hiking sounds wonderful, to bad you couldn't do the last part. Rome, how exciting! You be careful there, stick together and watch your stuff. I hope the weather is great and that you all get a nice tan. Thanks for the call, I'm feeling a lot better now. You take care and say hi to the girls for us. We miss you!

  2. Kyle Douglas Burleigh May 27, 2010 at 11:36 PM #

    this sounds awesome hun. I miss you so much. take lots of pics in rome!

  3. Fatima May 28, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

    Your Avo misses you, too. She is always asking about you. Uncle Joe and I (mostly Uncle Joe) are doing a pretty good job of keeping her updated. She got really worried when you were pick-pocketed, but is glad to know you are well. She wants to know if you are going to the Vatican.Stay well.

  4. Ely June 1, 2010 at 7:31 PM #

    Looks like u are having lots of fun!And watching all your pics makes me remember how beautiful is Florence!^^

  5. Ely June 1, 2010 at 7:31 PM #

    Looks like u are having lots of fun!And watching all your pics makes me remember how beautiful is Florence!^^

Leave a Reply

