Roma & Venezia!

2 Jun

typical tourist photo of the Colosseum in Rome

Ciao bellas,

I’m in Venice! Rome is an interesting city, but not my favourite. I wouldn’t consider it a very livable city at all. The sights are amazing though. I was able to explore the ancient Roman ruins (including the Colosseum), the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon, and some churches along the way. I even visited Vatican City and saw the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica! I actually walked all along the outside of Vatican City because we got lost on our way out and let me tell you, that place/country is huge!! Uphill, downhill – I wouldn’t do it again, but when I finally saw something familiar, a delicious gelateria was waiting for us.

Trevi Fountain

Speaking of gelato: I can’t believe how much of it I’ve eaten. It has pretty much become a daily staple. Breakfast, dinner, or a late night snack – gelato works for every meal! I like to try different flavours. I’ve tried offbeat flavours like marshmallow as well as more traditional ones, like pistachio or cafe. My favourite is cafe, no surprise there! Stefanie refuses to order anything except nutella. Nutella is not that popular here in Canada. We’re more peanut butter people.

Venice is a nice change of pace from the rest of Italy. I’m staying on one of the lagoon islands, called Lido. It has a beachy atmosphere compared to actual Venice. Yesterday, I explored two other islands, Murano and Burano. Murano is where they make all the decorative glass and I was able to see a couple of men create a gold leaf glass flower. It was beautiful! It was so hot in the glass factory. One guy said, “Welcome to Alcatraz!” Hmm…

Burano, Italy

Burano is filled with simple houses and senior citizens. They had a popular lace school once, I’m not sure if they still do though. The houses are all painted bright colours and there are no cars allowed. Supposedly, Burano was an island for the rich and famous, but now it just looks like retirees live there. The island is very picturesque and a great area to explore after a long day.

St. Peter’s Basilica, Rome

Today, I traversed through the canals and narrow passageways in Venice. Every February, Venice hosts an amazing Carnivale celebration where everyone dresses up and wears elaborate masks. There were so many shops selling masquerade masks – from cheap plastic knock-offs to intricate lace and feather plaster-made ones. Some of them were so beautiful, you could hang them as art.

Tomorrow I leave for Interlaken, Switzerland. I plan on hiking and maybe doing some activity depending on the price. There’s the option of doing a glacier walk, too! It might be picture-perfect!

3 Responses to “Roma & Venezia!”

  1. Brad June 2, 2010 at 10:34 PM #

    Sounds like you have been able to slow down and enjoy the sights. Venice sounds very interesting and very pretty. I'm glad you are all still having a good time. Switzerland should been fabulous, what with the mountains and all. Thanks for posting the pictures they were awesome. You ladies take care and hope to hear from you soon. We miss you. Oh yeah, thanks for the postcard.

  2. Sabine June 7, 2010 at 6:44 AM #

    Hi Girls!Switzerland? ENJOY!Just sit somewhere and soak up the nature and the beautiful views! (In my opinion: mountains are for watching – not for climbing up! It's too hot)I did't arrive reading all of your blogposts until now. But I'm sure you'll tell me the best stories next week!See you

  3. Fatima June 12, 2010 at 4:36 PM #

    I guess you are getting ready to leave Europe. We wish you well on your trip home. Stay safe and we look forward to hearing of your adventures in person. Thanks for blogging…it was a great way to stay connected!! Lots of Love sent your way. XXX000

Leave a Reply

