Checking off my to-do list

23 Aug

I leave for Lima, Peru in just over a week, but I’m leaving Toronto in just a few short days. It feels strange to have two distinct departure dates. My Toronto life has consumed me. Work, the city, friends, Kyle, Oli – leaving it all behind and going back to Windsor for a few days will be hard. Saying my goodbyes twice is no fun. I wish it was possible to leave for Lima directly from Toronto and have my family here to say goodbye.

I hate saying goodbye – and it shows. I become super antsy, anxious, and stressed just days before leaving. Sometimes, I even take it out on the people I love most, which makes no sense at all because they’re the ones I’ll miss when I’m gone. I don’t think I’ve really talked about this on my blog before, but actually leaving blows. Sure, once I arrive at my destination, all the excitement and sensory overload usually keeps my mind at bay – but traveling becomes all the more difficult when you have someone/something/some dog waiting for you back home. It can be a struggle.

I guess the most important thing to realize is that this shouldn’t stop you from traveling and doing the things you love – to a certain degree, of course. Having their support has pushed me to take the plunge and embrace the nomadic lifestyle. We all need to be our own person, but it’s not the same if you don’t have your loved ones along for the ride – whether it be from actually traveling together, to exchanging e-mails on the road or picking out a unique souvenir you know they’ll love.

My upcoming trip to South America will be the longest I have ever been apart from my sweet puppy, loving boyfriend and amazing friends and family. I’m proud that I made it 6 weeks in Europe without breaking down, but now I’ll have to keep it up for twice as long! Having Stefanie and Jessie with me helped – but even though it’s just Stef and I in South America, I know I can count on her. She can be a great ‘cuddler’!

With just 3.5 days left in the city – my schedule is pretty packed. Goodbye drinks with coworkers, coffee dates with friends, boyfriend snuggles, a birthday party, out-of-town visitors, laundry, packing, getting vaccines, reading guidebooks, and picking up some last minute items – it’s all a little much when all I want to do is lay in bed with my dog. Wish me luck!

One Response to “Checking off my to-do list”

  1. Anonymous August 24, 2010 at 8:45 PM #

    Yes maam coffee date with the julier tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

