Sharpening my travel senses

18 May
Melissa Medeiros To and Fro

Hmmm…. road trip through Vermont? Camping in Algonquin? Hiking the Bruce Trail? Clubbing in Montreal? Eating hotdogs in NYC? Suntanning in Cuba?

You’ve guessed it. I am in the midst of travel planning – once again! Jessie and I have decided to do a little travel dance at the end of June. I haven’t gotten the time off yet, so nothing is set in stone. Actually, we haven’t even decided where we want to go. We are just searching the best travel deals on the web. If all else fails, we are going camping. Go Canada!

We were originally set on driving up to Regina, meeting up with friends and continuing on to Alberta – mountains, lakes and bears! Oh my! We need to leave sometime after June 17th. Unfortunately, duty calls and I need to be back in Toronto and move into my new apartment by July 1st. This gives us only 10 days to work it – backpacker/road trip/beach bum style.

It really is a pain. The longer you wait in life, the more responsibilities and ties you establish. My most demanding strongholds: job (money), dog and apartment.At the same time, this gives me the opportunity to take on a few smaller adventures. This year has been overwhelming and tiring at times and being away for so long does take it’s toll. It will be exciting to switch gears and see some local/national/USA sights this year. I’m looking forward to focusing on one particular destination – whether it be a new city, a national park or an interstate highway.

So basically, I am looking into 2 trips this summer. Nature (camping, hiking, adventure) and City (culture, food, kitschy shops). What can I say, I’m a city girl who loves the outdoors. Was that cheesy? I bet.

2 Responses to “Sharpening my travel senses”

  1. Ing February 20, 2012 at 8:31 AM #

    hi Melissa.. dropped by! hope u can revive your blog soon!

    • MelissaToandFro February 23, 2012 at 12:00 AM #

      thanks Ing!

      I am planning some great adventures for 2012, so keep an eye out for new posts 🙂

      m

Leave a Reply

