FOMO

23 Aug

Fear of missing out.

Simple enough…

A few days ago, I saw this….

FOMO

It wasn’t the first time I heard about FOMO. When I volunteered in Peru, my housemates threw this 4-letter acronym around a lot. I disagree with the article that FOMO is about the internet. It’s so much more than that – it’s about real life debauchery and seizing the moment.

FOMO is the guiding light for most of my travels. It’s knowing that if I stay out dancing in Barcelona until the sun comes up, I’m still hiking a mountain in the morning to catch the best glimpse of the city. I can do both and all it takes is a tiny fear that I may never have the same opportunity. FOMO pretty much explains why I spent my money on traveling as well. Sure, I could have went to these countries and done the bare minimum or I could’ve just stayed at home, but I take chances. In Thailand, I only budgeted for my Open Water diving certification, but I loved scuba diving so much that I went for the Advanced certification soon after. It took some convincing, but the consequences of missing out were just too grave. FOMO won. I  went for it and I couldn’t be happier with the decision.

FOMO is not about doing something you don’t like – it’s about achieving all of the things you want to do (without sacrificing too much). Don’t get me wrong. It can be difficult to do and some people go overboard with FOMO. There are obvious challenges. Money… a hierarchy of needs and wants… blah blah blah. Try looking at the bigger picture. I’ve experienced some incredibly unique things and I now have friends from all around the world.

Fear is usually something you don’t want to have, but in this case I think it’s the push some people need to have. Sounds funny, doesn’t it?

Of course, I am simplifying this a bit. I’m not saying it’s the best route to take all of the time. All I know is that sometimes it just WORKS,  and if FOMO is the reason that makes you buy a one-way plane ticket to some faraway destination, then (by golly!) good for you!

4 Responses to “FOMO”

  1. Rich February 22, 2012 at 3:30 AM #

    Hey, I like this article on FOMO. Even if I don;t completely agree with it, because fear is the driver, I understand it works for you! There is a nice, bubbly quality to your writing that I am sure makes you a fun person to be around.
    Feel free to check ou my blog here, if you like it, leave a comment. heck, I’ll land you on a page you might enjoy reading /…
    The Juice Nazi of Marrakesh
    let me know 🙂

    • MelissaToandFro February 22, 2012 at 11:57 PM #

      Thanks Rich!

      I wouldn’t say I make all my life decisions because of FOMO. I do things, like travel and take risks, because I simply enjoy it. Enjoyment trumps fear 🙂 Hope you enjoy reading my blog! I tried to click your link, but the page can’t be found.

  2. Jessie Jackson August 17, 2012 at 10:01 PM #

    I need to start using FOMO a little more… maybe I would take some more chances.. especially when it comes to travel!

    • Melissa To and Fro August 17, 2012 at 10:12 PM #

      Jessie, there’s nothing wrong with taking chances!

      Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didnt do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

