RTW: Step One!

7 Jul

Wow. I am terrible at keeping up with weekly photo challenges. I suppose I just got caught up in the excitement of travel planning. Last week, I managed to take some time off and visit my family and friends in my hometown. It wasn’t all about catching up though. Stefanie and I had some major travel plans to discuss. In fact, I was hoping to book my flight while I was down there. Flight where? I guess I should start from the beginning…

Seeing as this will probably be the last opportunity for me to travel with very little strings attached, I’ve decided to pack up my things, leave the dog with a friend and jet off to some faraway destinations for a while. How long? Well, here’s the kicker…. 6 months! Yikes, even typing it is exhilarating yet terrifying. This adventure will be my longest one yet. Some people won’t understand it, but I’m confident in my choice. And as the wise man Drake once said… YOLO (you only live once). I feel ridiculous writing that.

So, WHERE AM I GOING?

Well, the adventure starts back home in Windsor. It’s a slow start. I’m moving out of my apartment September 1st and I’m not flying out until October 1st. For the month, I’ll be floating around friend’s and family’s houses saying my goodbyes and spending quality time with everyone before my departure. I’ll also be saving some extra money seeing as I won’t have rent to pay. Excellent!

If you know me, then you’ve heard that I’ve always wanted to go to San Francisco. I feel like I would love it there, especially the balance between city life and natural landscapes. I’ve been planning on visiting the city for the past three years and it just keeps falling through, so I’m making it my first pit stop. I’ll be flying from Detroit (because it’s the cheapest and closet airport to Windsor) to San Fransisco on October 1st for one week. From there, I’m flying to SINGAPORE.

Stefanie and I loved South East Asia so much and we are excited to head back there and explore some new countries like Malaysia and Indonesia, including Bali! I’m not sure how long to spend there, but maybe 6 weeks. After that, we are flying to AUSTRALIA! To be honest, Australia was never on my top must-see countries, but in Asia I met so many people coming from Oz and sharing their amazing stories. I fell in love with the idea of traveling there someday and I finally get the chance to do it.

I’m thinking about spending 2 months in Australia before flying to NEW ZEALAND and then after that, I have no clue where to go. India? China? Japan? Fiji? Thailand? Nepal? Laos?

This adventure will be one for the books. It’s going to be unlike anything I’ve ever done before for many reasons. This time around, I’m buying a one-way ticket, I’m single and it’s for 6 months!!! Repeat, 6 months!

So far, I’ve applied for my new passport and booked my flight to San Francisco. I’ll need to book my flight to Singapore soon and from Bali to Australia as well. Once I know the dates, I can apply for my Australian visa. I hear it’s fairly easy and prompt. The less stress, the better! Don’t forget to check back for new updates!

7 Responses to “RTW: Step One!”

  1. Alannahatesthatmelissaistraveling July 10, 2012 at 4:48 PM #

    Boo.

    • MelissaToandFro July 10, 2012 at 4:51 PM #

      Thanks Alanna. I’ll miss you too!

      • Alannawillmissmelissawhilesheistraveling July 10, 2012 at 5:03 PM #

        “As we go on, we remember
        All the times we had together
        And as our lives change, from whatever
        We will still be, friends forever…”

        …hahaha? I will miss you more!

  2. Brad Carter July 23, 2012 at 11:38 AM #

    It’s wise to travel now, while you are young and single. When you’re working and have family it’s seems travel just isn’t the priority anymore…Plan well and enjoy EVERY second.

  3. Aubriana August 7, 2012 at 10:57 PM #

    Hahaha, I love the YOLO comment. It’s so true though! This is so exciting and I’m getting a bit nervous reading that even though it’s not my trip! It will be amazing though and I hope someday soon I can take off a few months to do what you’re doing. Happy travels!!!

    • MelissaToandFro August 8, 2012 at 12:25 AM #

      Haha, I just had to write it! A RTW trip takes a ton of commitment. It’s like a relationship. There will be some pressing moments, but I’ll learn so much from being on the road and I’ll have a ton of fun along the way. Keep on traveling…

Leave a Reply

