Adventure starts near home

30 Jul

I escaped the skyscrapers and traffic for something a little different this past weekend – a 2-night trip to the lake. Just a short 2.5 hours drive from the bustling cosmopolitan city of Toronto lies Corunna, a tiny town near Sarnia, Ontario. I stayed with family in a beautiful house with backyard river access to Lake St. Clair and it was easy to forget that only a few short kilometres away lies Chemical Valley. You can’t help but notice the interesting juxtaposition.

Lake St. Clair, Ontario Canada

The view from the house – Lake St. Clair

canadian lake docks

Dusk on the dock

During the day, I’d eat BBQ food, jump in the warm pool, go for a jet-ski or boat ride and just lounge around the dock. During the warm nights, I’d drink some cold brews, play classic card games and wake up smelling like a camp fire. Bliss! This is pretty typical of what us Canadians call ‘cottaging’. The only difference is that it’s at someone’s year-round home! I also tried something new and adventurous during my weekend getaway. Wakeboarding! Wakeboarding is similar to water-skiing, but you only use one board. Actually, it’s more like the ‘snowboarding’ of water activities. Both of your legs are strapped into the board and you are towed by either a speedboat or even a jetski.

Wakeboarding on a lake

Wakeboarding for the first time

Having experienced my fair share of extreme activities, such as rappelling down waterfalls, white-water rafting, rock-climbing, zip-lining through cloud forests, and even scuba diving, I was eager to try wakeboarding. I was more nervous than expected. A few wipe-outs were expected, but I was determined to get up and glide on the mini crescent waves. On the first day, I was pulled by the jetski. Everyone seemed convinced it was the easiest method for a novice boarder. The next day, I rolled out of bed feeling 100 years older! I couldn’t believe how achy my muscles were. I felt like I was trapped in my grandmother’s body. It was pretty painful, so when someone asked if I was ready for round two on the wakeboard, I said what most people probably wouldn’t: “Sign me up!”

Wakeboarding on a lake

Don’t I look like a pro!?

On day two, I was pulled by the speedboat. I think a more seasoned wakeboarder would like the boat because you can go faster and the waves are much bigger. Despite the aches and pains, I managed the stay up for a longer than the day before. I was improving! You cannot beat the adrenaline rush and sense of accomplishment when you’re cruising down the river using every morsel of muscle in your body to stay on top of the water. The best part: you look so cool doing it.

So, I may not have been able to jump on a jet plane, but I did manage to find some adventure close to home. This will tie me over for a little while. I also really enjoyed and appreciated spending the laid-back weekend with my family, which is something I will be missing out on for 6 months come October. There is nothing like sharing stories, delicious food and a few cold ones with the people you love.

5 Responses to “Adventure starts near home”

  1. Jessie Jackson July 31, 2012 at 4:47 AM #

    It is very cool to see you boarding! looks so fun.

  2. Gina August 6, 2012 at 10:32 PM #

    Looks like a really fun place! I love weekends away to lakes. And great job on the wakeboarding! I tried it once but couldn’t get up.

    • MelissaToandFro August 7, 2012 at 3:01 PM #

      I may have fallen down a zillion times before I actually managed to stay up, but it was well worth it. I found it to be similar to snowboarding once you are on the water. Same sort of carving and weight distribution. Give it another go!

  3. Aubriana August 7, 2012 at 10:52 PM #

    Looks like an awesome vacation! Definitely my kind with the jetskiing, swimming, bonfires, and all the great things of summer. I haven’t tried wakeboarding but did kneeboarding a few years ago…would like to try wakeboarding though!

    • MelissaToandFro August 8, 2012 at 12:20 AM #

      Hi Aubriana, thanks for stopping by! I’ve been sort of stationary this year trying to finish my Masters, so I’m trying to explore locally more often. It was a memorable weekend 🙂 Definitely give wakeboarding a try. It’s surprisingly challenging!! Don’t forget to LIKE my Facebook page for updates and photo highlights http://www.facebook.com/melissatoandfro

Leave a Reply

