To and Fro

7 Jun

Well, well, well.

I’ve been thinking about a lot of things lately, mostly about where I am in life, where I was a year ago and where I’m heading now. This inevitably led me to share some thoughts about how I came up with the name of my blog. It’s a simple story really.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been in between two places (or three or four…). Everything that I want in life cannot be found in just one place, not yet. There is this constant need to travel. You can imagine how hard this can be, both personally and in relationships (family, friends, romance). But to be honest, I quite enjoy it. I love the state of flux I’m in. It’s exciting, novel and surprising. Nothing is redundant. It’s obviously scary as well, but I do find an obscure happiness in all of it. Knowing that there are so many roads to take which lead to endless possibility, some known and others not. There are a ton of quotes about destinations and journeys. So cliché, I know, but here are a few that I like…

“Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.” Greg Anderson

“Success is not a place at which one arrives but rather the spirit with which one undertakes and continues the journey.” Alex Noble

“Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home.” Matsuo Basho

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.” Ernest Hemingway

“the most important reason for going from one place to another is to see what’s in between, and they took great pleasure in doing just that.” Norton Juster

“I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” Robert Louis Stevenson

Some people are happy when they finally make it ‘to’ something while others find happiness when they can finally leave something behind. Yes, I’m certainly ambitious and I love setting and reaching goals for myself, but I also revel in change, shedding a new skin, expecting the unexpected and everything in between. It’s radiant. I’m obviously excited to (finally) start my career, meet the love of my life and have a family. To some, they call this ‘settling down’ but I don’t know about that. I’m going to call it my next big, back and forth, multi-destinational, non-stop adventure. I’ll probably always be in the in-between, because that’s where all the good stuff happens.

This blog is all about the ‘to and fro’ of my life as a traveller, geographical or otherwise, and I’m happy to share it with you. And of course, such a personal post isn’t complete without a picture of my one and only. He looks so tired, but adorable nonetheless.

Melissa Medeiros To and Fro

This dude

Leave a comment